top of page
  • Writer's pictureLili

Time to work

One of the things I dislike in people in my line of work ( voice acting) is the pretentiousness and hate they exhibit with people charging less. With newcomers.

It is important to have a healthy balance. Clients will ALWAYS try to save money, and when a client resorts to an Indian accented woman for their app, that is their budget, and it has nothing to do with me or my abilities but my pricing. In this case I will not hate the Indian woman "who takes my job" as it was never meant to be mine anyway.

I also see a lot of mean spirited comments towards newcomers, perhaps due to the fact that many think voice acting is just reading.

It is not. There is a whole world of wrongs, such as eating your words, not knowing where to emphasize, have your voice disappear as you speak and so much more.

There is merit in having talent and having a training. Knowing how to edit a file. The basics at least. What equipment you need.

So this is what this post is about.

I used to have all this very expensive equipment, when all I needed was a Yeti microphone. I got rid of my expensive sound card and microphone, treated my studio with some fiber glass and foam- especially the corners, bought some heavy duty sound reducing blanket to put at the door.

When I get a script, I voice it several times in different ways, and after recording, I go to Reaper, trim the silences between the words, make sure all words are intact, erase the mistakes, regroup the words in a good rhythm and export.

Sometimes I continue with audacity, if there are requirements a bit too complex for me to find them on reaper. Audacity is simple and free so anyone can use it, especially when starting up.

I put a google alert for voice acting, I subscribe to all the voice agencies I can find, and I find an agent locally.

If you want to know more about the process or how to start, write it in the comments :)


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page